Home / Sports / Gavaskar’s question: why Rohit is not in Australia tour?
Gavaskar's question

Gavaskar’s question: why Rohit is not in Australia tour?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is now underway to cope with the coronavirus. Although this domestic franchise tournament they are playing in the Middle East country UAE. This time India is also returning to international cricket. Kohli’s team will go to Australia. They will play ODI series at the beginning, then T20. Finally the Test series.

Surprisingly, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) did not include Rohit in any of the three formats. Sunil Gavaskar is surprised in that deceision.

The former Indian captain is looking for the answer of this question: why this batsman was not kept!

The BCCI has announced the squad for the tour of Australia in three formats . Where there is no Rohit. Although he is injured. Even then, Gavaskar can’t think why Hitman was not included in the series that will be start after month and a half later.

Tamil Nadu and Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Varun Chakraborty is a surprise pick in the T20 squad for the tour of Australia. He was called up to the national team for the first time. He was called up to the national team after taking five wickets against Delhi Capitals.

The ODI series starts on November 27 in Sydney. The next match is on November 29 at the same venue. The third and final ODI is on December 1 in Canberra. The first T20 will be played on December 4 at this venue. The other two T20s of the series are on December 6 and 8 in Sydney.

This was followed by a four-match Test series. The first one started in Adelaide, on 17 December. Boxing Day Test on December 26 at the same venue. The third Test starts on January 7 in Sydney. The last Test of the series is on January 15 in Brisbane.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithviraj Shaw, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (co-captain), Hanuma Bihari, Shubhaman Gill, Hridhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper) , Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Rabindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Mohammad Siraj.

T20 squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Lokesh Rahul (co-captain and wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Rabindra Javadesh, Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar and Varun Chakraborty.

News Room, October 27,2020