Home / Sports / Barty wins drought-breaking Australian Open women’s title
Australian Open

Barty wins drought-breaking Australian Open women’s title

Ashleigh Barty has become the first local player to claim the Australian Open women’s singles championship in 44 years, with the world number one’s idol Evonne Goolagong Cawley presenting her with the winner’s trophy.

She became the second First Nations woman to win the tournament following Goolagong Cawley’s four victories from 1974 to 1977.

Barty defeated American Danielle Collins 6-3, 7-6 (7/2) in the final on Rod Laver Arena, breaking the Australian title drought that stretched back to Chris O’Neil’s tournament victory at Kooyong in 1978.

It is Barty’s third major singles championship, adding to last year’s Wimbledon victory and her 2019 French Open triumph.

She is the fifth Australian to lift the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup in the Open era, joining O’Neil, Goolagong Cawley, Kerry Reid, and Margaret Court.