Home / National / Voting start in 60 municipalities

Voting start in 60 municipalities

In the second phase, voting is going on in 60 municipalities of the country. Voting begins at 8 a.m. Saturday, January 16. It will continue till 4 pm. At this stage, electronic voting machines (EVMs) are being used for voting in 28 out of 60 municipalities.

SM Asaduzzaman, joint-secretary of the EC secretariat, said the EC had first announced the schedule of 61 municipalities for the second phase. But voting in Syedpur in Nilphamari was postponed due to the death of a participating mayoral candidate.

He said all preparations have been made for a fair, free and fair election. Adequate law enforcement personnel and magistrates are deployed for the conduct of the elections. Apart from polling stations, BGB, police and Ansar have been deployed in the constituencies.

Besides, mobile team is patrolling the area. Striking force is also deployed. The movement of vehicles in the constituency was already restricted.

In 60 municipalities, 221 mayoral candidates are contesting for reserved seats, 745 for reserved seats and 2,320 for general seats. The total number of voters in 60 municipalities is 22 lakh 40 thousand 226 people. Among them 11 lakh 8 thousand 431 males and 11 lakh 31 thousand 831 females. There are 1,080 polling stations and 6,508 polling booths.

News Room, January 16,2021